The day our dog turned into a cat.

image

Look at the photo. To you it looks like our dog Storm is locked away in the laundry while the cat looks on in disgust. They make eye contact, you ask yourself what they are thinking? You ask why we lock the dog away like that in a small room but let the cat free run of the house? That would be a good question if you are quick to make judgements about others. But you are not judgemental.

Look at the photo carefully.

If you do this you would notice two things that will make you change your mind about the situation. The first discrepancy between your theory and the truth is the size of the swing door. It’s obvious when you notice but it would be very difficult for a dog to fit through that door on a regular basis. You notice I didn’t use the word “impossible”… just difficult.  I didn’t think he could possibility fit through the cat door. I was wrong. 

The second hint about the truth to this incident is the cat food bowls that are behind the door, in the same area as the dog. You may ask yourself why we feed our dog out of cat bowls? If you do that you’ve completely missed the point of what has occurred here.

I don’t know exactly what occurred before I walked into the laundry to take this photo but I’ll tell you what I do know.

I know it was Storm”s fault, he knows that he is not allowed into the laundry because he does not respect the boundaries of others. He also does not respect the food of others.

I know that I heard barking from the other room, and when I investigated I found this.

I know that Storm just stood there like an idiot when I found him, he made no attempt to walk back out through the cat door because he didn’t want to do it in front of me in case I discovered his secret.

I also know that Storm cannot read, if he could read he would have seen the box the gate came in, it was clearly marked as having a “cat door”. The purpose is in the name, it’s not a dog door as that would be a completely different product and wouldn’t have caused him to be stuck in the laundry.

We are lucky Storm does not play console computer games with the kids, he would try putting a Xbox game into a PlayStation console then bark at the TV for three hours because it didn’t work.

I’m certain the food bowl was full before the trespasser gained access. Luckily a small amount of cat food won’t harm a dog, cat food is higher in protein and fat and lower in zinc and vitamin E. Cat food also contains taurine, I’ve got no idea what that is as I had to Google possible side effects in case Storm exploded later today and that fun fact came up.

image

Storm has now retired to the lounge room for a quick nap. He feels no guilt and is unconcerned with the the cat who has now missed a meal.

He sleeps soundly with a full stomach.

Life is good.

14 thoughts on “The day our dog turned into a cat.

  1. Vof Storm, it’s me Nero! I’m happy to meet you. Our Nelli-cat used to eat my food but now it looks like she prefers hers. I think her teeth are not strong enough anymore for my big dry food. I don’t eat her food as I read from the packet it’s for sterilized cats (do they really think we can’t read?). They should be happy that we do our best to make them laugh! Bony wishes from Nero

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My husband had a dog that would bark at the sliding glass door to the back yard, because they would bring him in while at work, but then the food would be outside – they lived next to the beach (right on the sand) and the seagulls would come down and eat his food. Poor Russ had to watch all day (and bark) at the birds eating his food. When the roommates got home, if they weren’t careful, Russ would take off outside and chase the birds into the ocean and swim around in circles while they flew over-head. That’s how much he hated those damn birds for eating his food. 🙂 That’s probably how your cat feels, I imagine.

    Flop
    https://flipflopseveryday.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

